God creates evil

The other day a brother in Christ disagreed with me when I quoted the verse in the Bible that says that God creates evil.  I was told to go to the Hebrew root of the word because the real meaning gets lost in translation.  I am by no means a Hebrew or Greek scholar, yet I checked it out and it says the same thing, nothing different than the English.

I don’t think I need to be a bible scholar to understand what is clearly written in my English and Afrikaans Bible translations when it is written very plainly to understand.

Why would anyone translate it to a different meaning from the original Hebrew?  No, that verse in Isaiah 45:7 in the KJV (King James Version) says it very clearly:

I form the light, and create darkness:
I make peace, and create evil:
I the Lord do all these things.

And everyone is always saying read King James only!  And it is the King James Version that states that God creates evil!  (I read various versions.  I’m not a ‘KJV only’ person.)

For me to believe the word as it is written there does not mean because God creates evil that He is evil, absolutely not. God alone is in control, so that makes sense for me. In Ezekiel 38:4 it mentions that God puts a hook in the mouth of the enemy to draw him and his armies to attack Israel. And God does it to make Himself known in the sight of many nations.

I will turn you around, put hooks into your jaws, and lead you out, with all your army, horses, and horsemen, all splendidly clothed, a great company with bucklers and shields, all of them handling swords.

See, they are evil, yet God is the one making them do it. God even says in verse 10 “In that day thoughts will come into your mind and you will devise an evil scheme.” And I believe God allows evil spirits to put those thoughts into his mind, because in 1 Kings 22:22 it is written that God gives permission to a lying spirit to influence someone. God even tells him he will be successful to deceive the people.

““ ‘By what means?’ the LORD asked. “ ‘I will go out and be a deceiving spirit in the mouths of all his prophets,’ he said. “ ‘You will succeed in enticing him,’ said the LORD. ‘Go and do it.’ “. 🙂

Nothing happens unless God allows and approves it. And yet, that does not make our Holy God evil. Everything He does is good and right. << I prayed that to God the other day and He led me in His word to Daniel 9:14:

“for the Lord our God is righteous in all the works which He does,”!! 😀  Awesome isn’t He?

Thanks for reading.  God bless you with all spiritual blessings and abundantly so in Jesus’ Mighty Name.

One thought on “God creates evil

  1. The day before I wrote this blog entry, God led me to Daniel 9 “for the Lord our God is righteous in all the works which He does,” and in that same verse is also written that God brought the disaster upon them because they did not obey Him. I love how God leads us in His word and I needed that verse too to give to the brother in Christ who disagreed with me regarding God who creates evil. I love the word of God! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

